Main Menu Search
Use My Location

iKitesurf News

0 search result

All Posts Events Kiteboarding

Kite Mansion Open Champions are Crowned

On September 26, 2019   |   By

The perfectlyconsistent wind in Icapui made for high level action for the final at the Kite Mansion Open! All the riders threwdown some amazing tricks led by Alex Maes droppingthe highest scoring Rail Line and Christophe Tack stompinga Heel Front 9 off the kicker! However, one high trick score would not be enough as consistency would win the day withSpanish Duotone rider No Font coming outon top with clean and technical hits on all the features which includedthe highest Port Rail Line where he greaseda Switch Front 3 Back 5050 – Pretzel Back 1out followed by a Front Board 450 out!

Ewan Jaspan would once again take 2nd place by less than a point, this time0.35. He would have the last laugh though,looking down from the Throne as the KPL Champion for the first time!Christophe would take 3rdahead of Alex by only 0.06, ascending him to the rank of Vice KPL Champion over Noe by just 0.8 tour points!

In the women’s division the battle for the KPL championship was incredibly close. Helena Brochocka showed consistent riding and made her first KPL podium with a 3rd place and also took 3rd Place Overall for 2019. Annelous Lammerts and Karolina Winkowska came into the event tied with an event win each, sowhoever took the win here in Icapui wouldtake the crown. The final started with both landingToeBack5soff the firstkicker. They are still the only female riders to land double handle passes in KPLcompetitions. After the Starboard RailLine the difference between them was 0.17, the battle couldnt have beencloser!Karolina answered with a Heel Back 3off the 2ndkicker and Annelous matched with a ToeBack3Tail Grab. Despite the grab, Karolina went a bit bigger and took a 0.1 advantage. It all came down to the last feature, the Port Rail Line. Annelous would remain consistent to take the win by a whole point and claimher secondKPL Championship!

Kite Mansion Open Results

1. No Font
2. Ewan Jaspan
3. Christophe Tack
4. Alex Maes
5. Artem Garashchenko

1. Annelous Lammerts
2. Karolina Winkowska
3. Helena Brochocka
4. Aleksa Sanchez

Kite Park League Championship Results

1. Ewan Jaspan
2. Christophe Tack
3. No Font
4. Ramiro Gallart
5. Alex Maes
1. Annelous Lammerts
2. Karolina Winkowska
3. Helena Brochocka
4. Colleen Carrol
5. Issy von Zastrow

Congratulations Ewan and Annelous!

Read the full article: Kite Mansion Open Champions are Crowned